Albrecht Ziepert

Albrecht Ziepert was born in 1980 in Weimar. He works as a musician and composer for contemporary dance companies, theater productions, orchestras and bands. He received his education in piano, composition and conducting at Sibelius Akademie in Helsinki, the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Academy for Music in Leipzig and the Detmold Academy for Music.

He wrote his first theatrical compositions in 2008 at Deutsche Nationaltheater Weimar and was invited to the renowned media art festival ARS Electronica in Brucknerhaus Linz the same year. In 2010 he received an award for the best film music in Stiller See by Lena Liberta at the Novara Cine Festival in Milan. He began working as the music director for production at Deutsche Theater in Göttingen in 2011. Amongst others, he worked here with the artistic director Mark Zurmühle as well as Michael von zur Mühlen, Michaela Dicu and Sven Miller. In 2012, he composed his first orchestra commission for a concert of the MDR symphony orchestra in the former Centraltheater Leipzig under the direction of Torodd Wigum. In 2013, in conjunction with the production Faust! Der Tragödie erster und zweiter Teil at Deutsche Theater in Göttingen, he published the soundtrack Faust – Music for Theatre, which was revisited in 2015 with Philharmonie Jena under the direction of Marc Tardue. He made a new arrangement for the opera Carmen in 2014 for the world premiere of Ay! Ay! Carmencita adapted from Mérimées Novelle Carmen at Deutsche Theater in Göttingen. Parallel to this, he developed music for the Tanzfonds Erbe production Anita Berber Retroperspektive at Kunstquartier Bethanien in Berlin. In 2015, alongside work for Jenaer Philharmonie, he composed work for the symphony orchestra STÜBAPhilharmonie and developed the interactive sound installation Move, which was exhibited at festivals in Berlin and Athens.

He is currently developing work with the company MS Schrittmacher at Theaterdiscounter Berlin and at Staatstheater Saarbrücken. Albrecht Ziepert is the pianist for the band Pentatones and the music collective No Accident In Paradise.

Back to the overview